Schedule 2013

Saturday - May 11


CandlEriggs Bar

: INTRODUCTORY TALK: What is Tectonics Glasgow?

Join Tectonics curator Ilan Volkov as he discusses the festival with some of the participants, including Alvin Lucier, Hildur Guðnadóttir and David Fennessy.

Chaired by Fiona Talkington, from BBC Radio 3's Late Junction.

Limited seating availability.


Grand Hall

Alvin Lucier / David Fennessy : OPENING CONCERT

David Fennessy Prologue (Silver are the tears of the moon) (BBC Commission, World Premiere)
Morton Feldman Cello and Orchestra
Alvin Lucier Exploration of the House (UK Premiere)
Charles Ross The Ventriloquist (UK Premiere)
Frank Denyer The Colours of Jellyfish*
(BBC Co-Commission with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra)
(UK Premiere)

Anton Lukoszevieze cello
Juliet Fraser soprano*
Children from St. Mary's Episcopal Cathedral Choir, Edinburgh*
Ilan Volkov conductor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Duration: approx.
1 hour 50 minutes including an interval of 20 minutes


Old Fruitmarket

: VOICE OF THE BIRDS with Hanna Tuulikki

Duration: approx. 30 minutes

Please note that this event is a mixure of standing and seating


Grand Hall

Ana-Maria Avram / Iancu Dumitrescu : DUMITRESCU / AVRAM

Ana-Maria Avram   Nouvel Archae for computer-assisted voice and live voice
Iancu Dumitrescu   Hazard and Tectonics, for computer assisted sounds,
electric  guitars, prepared piano, percussion (World Premiere)
Ana-Maria Avram   Metalstorm (II) for computer assisted sounds, electric guitar,
cello, percussion and piano  (World Premiere)

Iancu Dumitrescu
Ana-Maria Avram
Stephen O’Malley

Duration: approx. 45 minutes


Old Fruitmarket


Aidan Moffat, Stuart Braithwaite
Hildur Guðnadóttir, Oren Ambarchi
James Rushford, Joe Talia & members of the BBC SSO

DJ set from Stephen Pastel

Sunday - May 12


Foyer, Old Fruitmarket, City Halls Bars and Promenades


Asparagus Piss Raindrop describe themselves as “a crypto-conceptual science-fiction anti-band formed from a dreadful, ever expanding pool of improviser/composer/performers.  This new promenade piece will occupy several parts of City Halls simultaneously and consecutively.


Grand Hall


Works by Alvin Lucier
Music for Cello and One or More Amplified Vases*;
Still Lives, for piano with slow sweep pure wave oscillators**;
Bird and Person Dyning for performer with microphones, loudspeakers and electronic birdcall*** ;
Criss-Cross for two electric guitars and pure wave Oscillators**** World Premiere ;
Nothing is Real (Strawberry Fields Forever), for piano,amplified teapot, and miniature sound system**

Anton Lukoszevieze cello*
Frank Denyer piano**
Alvin Lucier performer***
Oren Ambarchi, Stephen O’Malley electric guitars****
Duration: approx. 75 minutes


Grand Hall

Chiyoko Szlavnics / Martin Suckling / Alvin Lucier : ORCHESTRA CONCERT 2

Chiyoko Szlavnics  New Work (World Premiere)
Martin Suckling    Release  (BBC Commission, World Premiere)
Alvin Lucier Slices for cello and orchestra*    

Anton Lukoszevieze cello*
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov conductor 
Duration: approx. 50 minutes

Chiyoko Szlavnics’s new work is supported by the Music Section
of the Canada Council for the Arts


Old Fruitmarket


Solo Performance
Duration: approx. 25 minutes
Please note that this event is a mixure of standing and seating


Grand Hall

John De Simone / Iancu Dumitrescu : CLOSING CONCERT

John De Simone  New Work  (BBC Commission, World Premiere)
Iancu Dumitrescu    Elan and Permanence*  (World Premiere)

Stephen O’Malley electric guitar*
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov conductor
Duration: approx. 60 minutes